Good Friday Quiche

Happy Easter everyone!

I’ve just finished my rotation in Geriatrics, where I was going all over the hospitals, back and forth, up and down to the various floors for consults. Needless to say, this didn’t make it easy to bake…and who would I feed it to?

But I’m starting IMCU this week, so there will be plenty of nurses, PTs, OTs, and residents to feed. So stay tuned for more baking…

 

In the meantime though, since I’ve got friday and saturday off for Easter, I thought I’d make something fancy for brunch. Joffre’s post-call today and in a coma since he didn’t sleep last night, so I had the whole morning to myself to clean up the kitchen and make it messy again with this quiche.

 

Asparagus, Red Pepper, and Bacon Quiche (adopted from JoytheBaker)

I had a couple pillsbury premade pie crusts lying around, and thought this would be a perfect use for it! If you’re more motivated than me…you can make your own pie crust from scratch.

Ingredients for the filling:

– 6 whole eggs

– 1 C milk (I used skim)

– 1/2 C heavy cream

– 1 C shredded cheese (I used a combination of cheddar and mozzarella)

– 1 1/2 C chopped asparagus (I used almost 2 cups and the quiche almost overflowed…so stick to 1.5 C)

– 1/2 red pepper, diced

– 4-5 strips turkey bacon, diced

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F, and put your pie crust into a 9′ pie plate.

Lightly saute in butter or olive oil, the asparagus, pepper, and bacon. Sprinkle with some salt and pepper. Then spread on the bottom of the pie crust, and top with 1/2 C shredded cheese.

Whisk together the eggs, milk, heavy cream. Add a pinch of salt and pepper. Pour on top of the asparagus/pepper/bacon/cheese mixture. Add the rest of the shredded cheese to the top. Then bake for ~50 mins (45-55 mins) until it’s not longer jiggly on the top and golden brown.

 

Voila! Enjoy!! I’m sure you can use whatever variation you want. Take away the bacon to make it vegetarian. Substitute half the cheese for feta. Add green onions, spinach, or mushrooms. YUM!

Image

Leave a Reply

