On Bruschetta and Boyfriends

My friend Ryan’s girlfriend has a blog. Her name is Leslie, and her blog is Leslie Chomps!. She had a yummy post on making Boyfriend Bruschetta sandwiches. Why are they called that? I’m not sure. But I had some almost-overly-ripe tomatoes from the Farmer’s Market in my fridge, some chicken breasts, and a boyfriend to feed…so I thought it was a perfect occasion to try them out for myself.

Deliciousness! I haven’t made bruschetta before, but it seems to be a staple appetizer to order in restaurants. I don’t know if I want to order it at restaurants anymore because it’s so simple to make!

I googled “bruschetta” and put the following things in mine:

Bruschetta
– 1 clove garlic (if you like it more garlicy, put more in! I didn’t want too strong of a garlic flavor this time)
– spoonful balsamic vinegar
– spoonful grapeseed oil
– dash of basil (I only had dried, fresh would be fairly good I imagine!)
– dash of salt and pepper

– chopped up tomatoes
– 2 slices of red onion, diced

Mix it all together and let it sit for at least 10 minutes. Mine got really juicy, so I took a strainer and got rid of some of the juices. Then I toasted two baguettes with a slice of cheese, baked up a chicken breast and sliced it in half, and topped the sandwich the bruschetta! MMM. Tasty and healthy dinner. =)

One thought on “On Bruschetta and Boyfriends

Leave a Reply

