Teriyaki Burgers!

YUM! I’m in Toronto for an elective right now. My friend and I have been eating out way too much, so I made these turkey burgers for us yesterday! I took a picture, but that will have to wait for when I get back to Edmonton.

This is loosely based on a recipe off of Annies Eats, as well as these delicious teriyaki burgers we had while camping with Steph and Les once. This is my own version! It was super fun because I just made it up as I went along, using what ingredients we did have and not really measuring out anything. Try it out!

Teriyaki Burgers

1. Chop up onion into very small pieces (I used about 1/3 of an onion), as well as some bread crumbs (I shred up one end piece of whole wheat bread). Mix them with your choice of ground meat (I used ground turkey – healthy!) Mix them together thoroughly. Don’t be afraid to get dirty, I used my hands! (well, make sure your hands are clean though :P)

2. Add in the following ingredients…here are the approximate amounts I used:
– 3-5 tbsp soy sauce
– 1-2 tbsp ground ginger
– 1 tbsp ground/diced garlic
– 3-4 tbsp sugar (white or brown – we didn’t have brown, and white was fine)
– 1 tsp vinegar (of your choice, we used a chinese vinegar)
– salt and pepper, dashes of each

3. Mix them all up again, and form your patties! Then cook those suckers up. You can top them with this pineapple/mango salsa recipe:

For the salsa:
1 mango, diced
1-1½ cups diced fresh pineapple
½ of one red bell pepper, diced small
¼ cup red onion, finely diced
1 tbsp. minced fresh cilantro
Juice of one lime
Pinch of coarse salt

Mmmmm…delicious. I also made sweet potato fries as a side. Sweet livin’ =)

Leave a Reply

