Hummingbirds…crushed up.

Oh me oh my, it’s been over a month since I’ve added anything to this blog! Granted, I haven’t been baking very much recently. We started internal medicine 3 weeks ago, and ever since it has been ruling my life. I actually like internal. The problems are challenging, the patients have about 15 other medical conditions complicating the picture, and I feel (and look) like an idiot…daily. But it’s rewarding. My only beef is with being on call. It’s nice to get called about ward issues, to have patients that are “yours” to deal with, and to sort out someone’s admission…

However you no longer feel like it’s nice at 5 AM when you’ve been working almost non-stop since 7:30 AM the day before, have had next to no sleep, and are just starting on another admission. /sigh

Luckily we do get some breaks. Last weekend, one of my friends and fellow Track 1 medicine crew had her birthday party! So cupcakes were in order.

I love these cupcakes. They’re dense, like a carrot cake, but different from your usual fruity cake. Everyone always asks…”what’s a hummingbird cake”? I started to tell people that I crushed up little hummingbirds and put them inside…and that’s why the frosting is pink. This answer didn’t seem to go over well with a lot of people, so I thought I’d look into where the origin was from. However, even wikipedia didn’t have an answer for me! This is what Martha Stewart’s website has to say:

“Some say this Southern layer cake earned its name because each otherworldly bite makes you hum with delight. Another theory is that it’s as sweet as the sugared water used to attract its hovering namesake.”

So the Hummingbird Cupcakes, are basically a cakes with pineapple, pecans, and banana (and sometimes coconut).

Hummingbird Cupcakes
(Adapted from Cupcake Blog)
(Makes 24 cupcakes – I made 1.5 times the amount to get 40 cupcakes)
3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon (I was a little more generous with the cinnamon)
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1-1/2 tsp vanilla
1 8oz can crushed pineapple, with liquid
2 mashed bananas
1 cup coursely chopped pecans

1. Mix flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, salt with a whisk in a good sized bowl.
2. Beat eggs.
3. Add oil and vanilla to beaten eggs and mix until somewhat combined.
4. Add egg/oil/vanilla mixture to flour/sugar/baking soda/cinnamon/salt mixture.
5. Mix together pineapple, bananas, pecans until combined.
6. Add to the rest of ingredients and stir to combine.

Bake at 350 degrees for ~25 minutes until golden and a cake tester comes out clean.

I topped these suckers with a strawberry cream cheese frosting. I never really measure things out with frosting, I think it’s all about beating it to taste. But I took a slab of cream cheese, a small chunk of lard, some spoonfuls of strawberry jam, and icing sugar and beat them together, adding more icing sugar to taste. YUM!

It’s easy to make chocolate words too – just melt your chocolate of choice in a plastic bag in the microwave, cut a teeny hole in the corner, and pipe the words onto a plastic/tin foil/parchment paper covered baking sheet. Stick them in the freezer til they’re nice and solid, and pop them on top! Tada!

Enjoy =)

Leave a Reply

