“Can you come live in my house and bake for me all the time?”

I was propositioned today at work. One of the nurses working in emerg first accused me of not baking for them today and then realized there was a nice little loaf sitting beside her lovingly and retracted her statement. She later decided she wants to keep me for herself and offered to have me live in her basement. 57 inch flat-screen TV with satellite! Big movie collection! Treadmill and elliptical and bike! Kitchen’s right above my potential bedroom! She said there’s only a twin bed, but that just means more cuddling for me and the boyfriend!

What a tempting offer =) hahaha but I think I better stick to finishing medical school. I’ve come this far…can’t be side-tracked by a flat-screen tv.

So make a loaf of this delicious quick-bread today. It’s very very yummy, citrusy, fragrant, and just a different kind of loaf then I’m used to. I got a little worried that it was starting to burn, when the middle was still a little gooey, but it actually was tastier that way. With the substitutions that I made, it’s only about 180 calories a slice. Delicious little snack that’s fairly healthy too!

Orange, Berry, and Pecan Bread (adapted from bakingbites.com)

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup orange juice
1 tbsp orange zest
1 tbsp canola oil
2 tbsp apple sauce
1 large egg
1 cup mixed berries (fresh or frozen)
1/2 cup pecans

1. Preheat oven to 375F and lightly grease a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan.
2. Toast pecans – I throw them on a parchment paper lined baking sheet and bake them for about 7 minutes (watch them carefully so they don’t burn!)
2. Whisk together flours, sugars, baking powder, baking soda and salt in a large mixing bowl.
3. Mix together orange juice, orange zest, oil, applesauce and egg in a separate container. Pour into flour mixture and stir until just combined.
4. Stir in berries of choice (I used blackberries, raspberries, and blueberries) and toasted pecan pieces. If using frozen berries, do not thaw beforehand (as this will turn the batter icky colours). Just toss them in still frozen.
5. Spread evenly in prepared loaf pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack for 10 minutes, then remove loaf from pan and cool completely before slicing.

I got about 13 slices out of it. You could probably get more if you sliced it a bit thinner. I was in a hurry and didn’t let it cool completely, hence the bigger slices. It’s a bit sturdier once it cools down completely. Enjoy! yum yum yum…

Leave a Reply

