East Meets West Comfort Food

Chili is one of my favorite comfort foods. I have gotten increasingly picky with my chili these days those. Wendy’s chili just won’t cut it for me anymore. I like my chili hearty, full of goodness, and served with something complimentary. So I decided to make my own!

I’ve been reading up on different chili recipes, and took bits and pieces from each one and made up my own recipe. This makes a HUGE quantity (as you can see). Joff came to visit, so I thought it would be okay to make a big batch…but we had it for dinner, and then I’ve had it for 3 meals since, sent Joff off with a big container of it, and there’s still a fair-sized container of it left. It’s absolutely delicious though. Hearty enough for my liking. You could add ground turkey if you don’t like the idea of a vegetarian chili, but it doesn’t need it! Mix and match vegetables too…I think eggplant, other types of squash, more carrots, different kinds of peppers, jalapeno peppers…lots of stuff would work well!

Vicki’s Chili
1 medium zucchini
handful of baby carrots
2 celery stalks
1/2 red pepper
1/2 large onion
2 garlic cloves
1 can (19 oz) white kidney beans
1 can (19 oz) red kidney beans
1 can (12 oz) corn
1 can (19 oz) black beans
1 can (19 oz) crushed tomatoes/tomato sauce

Spices:
1 tbsp cumin
2 tbsp chili powder (feel free to add more!)
2 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tbsp paprika
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp cocoa powder

Dice up all your vegetables as you like them. In a large sauce pan, cook onions in small amount of vegetable oil until they start to become translucent. Add zucchini and cook until they start to soften a bit. Then add in the rest of your vegetables (carrots, celery, red pepper) and finely chopped garlic. Stir-fry a little longer, mixing together your spice concoction while you wait, and then add it to the vegetables.

Transfer your veggie mixture to a slow cooker or a large pot and add in the canned stuff (beans, corn, and tomato sauce). Let it cook on low for at least 1-2 hours on the stove (stirring occasionally) or in the slow-cooker.

Yummy! It tastes even better the second day, when the flavor’s had a chance to sit for a bit. We made my mom’s green onion cakes to go along with it. This was my first time making them without her, and they turned out pretty well! Joff seems to think so too =)

One thought on “East Meets West Comfort Food

  1. Leslie says:

    YUM! this looks great. i’m stealing it for the next time i make chili (I have my turkey chili frozen for when I don’t have time to make dinner). i love all the veggies in it! great stuff.

Leave a Reply

