How to catch a boy.

This recipe has the best title. I read it on Smitten Kitchen and knew that I had to make it, pretty much regardless what it looked like. It’s called Blueberry Boy Bait! So if you’re looking to catch yourself a boy (or a man…they don’t really grow up anyways), maybe you should test out this recipe =) I’ve already got one, but I’ll ask him if his feeling change (for the better) when he tries this one out tomorrow.

I actually made a hybrid between the raspberry buttermilk cake and blueberry boy bait, because I liked the sounds of both of them. So I halved the boy bait recipe and made stuff up along the way. Here’s my version:

Berry Boy Bait
1/4 cup whole wheat flour (I’m obsessed with putting in at least a little bit of whole wheat flour into everything I make. I feel like it makes it healthier…and makes me feel better about grabbing a second piece!)
3/4 cup AP flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon table salt
1/2 cup butter, softened (It’s always crucial to make sure your butter is at room temperature. I forgot to take mine out of the fridge earlier in the evening, and probably should have let it sit at room temperature an hour longer, but I couldn’t wait!)
heaving 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
zest of 1/2 lemon
1 large egg
1/2 cup buttermilk (I’m too lazy to buy buttermilk – I always just make it out of regular milk – 1 cup milk:1 tbsp lemon juice ratio)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup mixed berries (I used a mixture of frozen strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, and blueberries)
Topping: Extra 1/2 cup berries

Adjust oven rack to middle and heat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease an 8×8 cake pan. Make your buttermilk and let sit at least 10 minutes (1/2 cup milk with 1/2 tbsp lemon juice). Whisk flours, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl. In a separate bowl, mix sugars with lemon zest by hand (smells so good!). Then, with electric mixer, beat butter and sugar mixture on medium-high speed until fluffy, about two minutes. Add egg and beat until just incorporated.

Add vanilla to buttermilk. Reduce speed to medium and beat in one-third of flour mixture until incorporated; beat in half of buttermilk. Beat in half of remaining flour mixture, then remaining buttermilk, and finally remaining flour mixture. Toss berries with remaining one teaspoon flour. Using rubber spatula, gently fold in blueberries. Spread batter into prepared pan. Sprinkle top of the cake with remaining 1/2 cup of berries.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until knife or toothpick comes out clean. Let it cool in the pan for 20 minutes, then take it out and enjoy!

I also did some baking earlier in the day, since I didn’t have to be in clinic until the afternoon (man I love the free time in family med!) I brought most of them to clinic and they were demolished pretty quickly. I think I’m slowly winning the nurses and clinic staff over =)

I made this earlier in the year, before Christmas, and I love this recipe! I use Hershey’s caramel kisses and it’s just the best combination. Try not to eat all of them before they’ve cooled down…it’s hard. The mixture of peanut butter, chocolate, and caramel is a little bit orgasmic. Ha, I lied. A LOT orgasmic. They’re pretty easy to make, you just need to allow lots of time for them to cool down so that the kisses don’t get all wonky shaped.

Peanut Butter Blossoms (From Land O’ Lakes)
1/2 c. butter
1/2 c. peanut butter
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 3/4 c. flour (again, I used 3/4 cup whole wheat, 1 cup AP)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
Granulated sugar
at least 48 Kisses

Heat oven to 375°F. Combine 1/2 cup sugar, brown sugar, butter and peanut butter in large bowl. Beat at medium speed until light and fluffy. Add egg, vanilla and salt; continue beating until well mixed. Add flour and baking soda. Continue beating, scraping bowl often, until well mixed.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll balls in 1/4 cup sugar. Place 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Push down a little.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until very lightly golden brown. Immediately press 1 chocolate kiss in center of each cookie when you take them out. Remove from cookie sheets; cool completely on wire racks. I only had 38 kisses left in the package I bought b/c I kept sneaking them all week /blush. So I only made 38 blossoms, and then I made an extra 16 regular peanut butter cookies! Just take the leftover dough if you don’t have enough kisses, roll in granulated sugar, and push down with a fork. They’re a crispier PB cookie by themselves and I usually like eating really soft PB cookies, but they’re still very tasty. This recipe makes TONS of cookies as you can see!

One thought on “How to catch a boy.

Leave a Reply

