Helping Haiti.

We are all oh-so-busy in our lives. An hour and a half driving to and from the Sturgeon Hospital (wayyy on the NORTH end of St. Albert) eats up a good chunk of my day. Working, learning, studying, eating, and every once in awhile, sleeping. So many activities!

But there’s always time for baking. And there should always be time for helping out others. That’s what medicine’s all about afterall, isn’t it? Wasn’t that part of the obligatory generic answer in the med school interviews? Why do you want to be a doctor?

So I don’t have a ton of time to help out these days. But I want to do my part. I’m going to have an e-bake sale. I will be taking requests for baking! Anything (within reason) that you have a craving for, that I can feasibly make, I will make for you. Think about it…instead of going to a regular bake sale with the usual cookies and puffed wheat squares…you can really satisfy those cravings! I’ll be charging a minimum donation fee of $15.

Even if you don’t live in Edmonton, you can still help! Leave a comment and let me know which charity you think should get the money. I’ve been leaning towards Doctors without Borders. For every person that comments on this post, I’ll donate 50 cents (up to $500).

Technicalities:
1. The e-bake sale part only applies to people in Edmonton unfortunately. I don’t have the time or resources to ship to other parts of the world! Sorry!
2. I’ll make the baking on a first-come, first-serve basis. So you may not instantaneously get your baked goods. I still have to spend 75% of my day in the hospital, you know!
3. Please try to make your requests more general so I have some room for creativity! “cake with cream cheese frosting”, “something with chocolate”, “cookies with nuts”, that sort of thing.

If others would like to get involved in this e-bake sale…let me know =)
Hope to hear from you all soon. ❤

9 thoughts on “Helping Haiti.

  1. Acorn says:

    One cake please for my sister/new niece’s baby shower 🙂 sometime in Feb, will get back to you with a date when I know. Be as creative as you want!

  2. Daisy Hartmann says:

    Great stuff!!! You’re always amazing. Anywho, Christopher loves fudge/chocolate/sweet things, so anything like that. If you can make lava cookies/cakes even better! If I donate a sizable amount to Doctors Without Borders through you, is there a tax receipt? I know that would be difficult, though so no worries…
    Oh, and Chris and I are starting to disappear for interviews… so you’ll have to let me know when I should expect the yummies!

  3. Brianne says:

    Vicki,

    Amazing as always! Wish I were in Edmonton! Have you thought about where to donate the funds? Partners in Health, who have worked extensively in Haiti for 20 years, could be a good option, or alternatively Doctors Without Borders (MSF)? Anyway, there are lots of agencies who could use the support, I’m sure!

    Take care,
    Brianne

  4. Amol Saincher says:

    Yo Vicki! Can you make that awesome Skor cake that you made like 3 years ago thats still ingrained in my brain as a constant craving? Right now I’m in rural block for 4 weeks so maybe ship it over in a month? Is that possible?

    Amol

  5. Troy Bornes says:

    I like the novel idea, Vicki! People that normally chow down on your baking need to step up to the [dessert] plate to help your cause. I’m all for it. One of the guys I used to play football with lives in Haiti now 😦 Luckily he is alive.

    Peanut butter cookies 🙂

  6. Josh says:

    Hey Vicki! Great idea!

    Laura Matemisz and I are gonna ask for those chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes! How many in a batch?

  7. Allison says:

    I missed you after lecture. I have two orders. A cake for my mom and some yummy treats for me! I will let you decide on what you make, although I love chocolate! If you want to run anything by me or you want me to be more decisive let me know. I need the cake by the 5th if that isn’t too much of a crunch. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

