The day before the real world begins

Tomorrow is the first day of clerkship. It seems like a momentous occasion, but I start with Pediatrics Emergency and I don’t have a shift until Tuesday night (midnight to 8 AM!)…so all I have tomorrow is an Orientation in the morning. I have no idea what to expect, and I have no idea what I should be doing to prepare myself!

…So I decided baking was as good a way as any. Right?

Apple Pie
I had a craving for apple pie. Nothing else would satisfy it. So my friend and I made apple pie for a BBQ. Let me tell you, rolling out that dough was quite a workout! I think I deserved a big slice after all that work I did. The calories even out in the end, right?

The filling came from The Hummingbird Bakery, which my friend brought over. The crust came from an old recipe of my mom’s that I am too lazy to go dig out right now =) I don’t think I made it quite the same as she did…more practice with pies will be necessary to perfect the technique, I believe! I’ll just post pictures. We used the leftover crust to make a mini-blueberry pie.
Apple pie
Apple pies

Chocolate Chip Cookies (from Two Peas and Their Pod)
These cookies are QUITE tasty, especially when fresh out of the oven. They were more of a cakey-like consistency, and I think I personally prefer the more chewy-type…but they definitely hit the spot when paired with the delicious Rutherford Rose tea my friend’s mom got out for us. mmm…tea….
tea

Ingredients:
2 sticks of good unsalted butter.
1 cup of white Sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar
3 Eggs
2-3 tsp Vanilla Extract
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
2-3 Cups flour (I used 3)
Bag of quality chocolate chips. (I used 1/3 chopped Callebaut dark chocolate, Callebaut white chocolate, and milk chocolate chips – I’d probably use even more next time)
chocolate

1. Cream together for at least 5 minutes. (I creamed it good and long.) It takes at least 5 minutes sometimes more depending on the temp of the butter.
2. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well.
3. Add flour. Mix well. If needed add an additional 1/4 cup of flour but not too much (I didn’t add any more flour). Once the chips are in you can’t mix for too long so any flour you add may not get mixed in completely.
4. Bake at 350 for 9-12 minutes depending on size of cookie. We got about 51 cookies! Yummy!!
cccookies postbaked

Turtle Brownies (From Martha Stewart)
* FOR THE BROWNIES
* 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, plus more for pan
* 3 ounces good-quality unsweetened chocolate, coarsely chopped
* 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
* 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
* 1 cup sugar
* 2 large eggs
* 1/4 cup whole milk
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* FOR THE TOPPING
* 1 cup sugar
* 1/3 cup heavy cream
* 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
* 1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
* 1 cup coarsely chopped toasted pecans (about 4 ounches)

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line a buttered 8-inch square baking dish with foil or parchment paper, allowing a 2-inch overhang. Butter lining (excluding overhang); set aside.
2. Make batter: Put chocolate and butter in a medium heatproof bowl set over a pan of simmering water; stir until melted. Let cool slightly.
3. Whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt in another medium bowl; set aside.
4. Put sugar and eggs in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, and beat on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 4 minutes. Add chocolate mixture, milk, and vanilla, and mix until combined. Reduce speed to low. Add flour mixture; mix, scraping down sides of bowl as needed, until well combined.
5. Pour batter into prepared dish. Bake until a cake tester inserted into center of brownies comes out with a few crumbs but is not wet, 27 to 30 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack.
6. Make topping: Bring 1/3 cup water and the sugar to a boil in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat, stirring, until sugar has dissolved. When mixture comes to a boil, stop stirring, and wash down sides of pan with a wet pastry brush to prevent crystals from forming. Continue to cook, swirling pan occasionally, until medium amber, 5 to 7 minutes.
7. Remove from heat, and immediately add cream,vanilla, and salt. Gently stir with a wooden spoon or heatproof spatula until smooth. Add pecans; stir until caramel begins to cool and thickens slightly, about 1 minute.
caramel sauce
8. Pour caramel over cool brownies; spread with an offset spatula. Refrigerate until cold, 30 minutes to 1 hour.
9. Let brownies stand at room temperature at least 15 minutes before serving. Lift out, and cut into 16 squares, wiping knife with a hot, damp cloth between each cut. Brownies can be refrigerated in an airtight container up to 2 days.

DELICIOUS!!!! DSCN3885

Leave a Reply

