Hoorah! P=MD!

We had an exam on IV therapy this thursday, based on a 111 page manual we were supposed to read. They gave us said manual at the beginning of the summer because a large percentage of last year’s class failed it, and were given the manual at the start of the week. You think I’d learn, and try to start reading it in the summer. But no, I started reading it on monday night. So many people fail it, that they schedule a rewrite the next day…into our jam-packed schedule!

We were told that if we got an email by 6 PM on thursday, we’d have to rewrite the exam on friday. So counting down to about 5:45…I realized no email = no test = 2 hour lunch break! No studying tonight! Freedom!!

Whatever should I do with my free evening? Start reading the Basic Life Support manual? Start studying up for my pediatrics rotation? Start reading the radiology textbook?

…who are we kidding? I baked. And I baked lots.

Unfortunately, my dad’s away in Ireland and took the camera with him…and I couldn’t find any other photographing apparatus. So no pictures this time. But delicious recipes do follow!

Pecan Pie Cupcakes (from Bake or Break, originally from Recipezaar)
These cupcakes were ridiculously easy to make. I almost felt guilty getting compliments on them, because they took so little time. And are so freaking delicious. SO GOOD!!! And requires no frosting. Makes 12 regular sized cupcakes.
Ingredients
* 1 cup chopped pecans
* 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
* 1 cup packed brown sugar
* 2/3 cup butter, melted
* 2 eggs

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Combine all ingredients and mix well.
3. Spray a miniature muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray.
4. Fill each 3/4 full.
5. Bake in preheated oven for approx. 18 minutes.

Cranberry Coconut Squares (recipe from Edmonton Journal…last christmas)

This is one of my mom’s FAVORITE things in the whole wide world! I made it at Christmas and she insisted I make TWO more batches the same week!! (We brought them to a few christmas parties, so thankfully we didn’t consume them all). My mom is pretty picky with my baking…she doesn’t really like cupcakes, but she loves it when I make these. Try it. Trust me.

Pastry:
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cut cold butter cut in cubes

Filling:
4 eggs
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup whole cranberries
1 cup shredded sweetened coconut

1. Preheat oven to 325 F. Butter 9 x 13 baking dish.
2. Pulse flour, sugar, salt and butter in food processor. Whirl until crumbly.
3. Pat into baking dish. Bake for 20 minutes.

Lemon Mixture:
1. Meanwhile, whirl eggs, sugar and lemon juice in food processor. Add flour and baking powder. Whirl just until smooth.
2. Scatter cranberries over warm pastry. Sprinkle with coconut. Pour lemon mixture over top. It will spread to fill pan during baking.
3. Bake in centre of oven until middle is set (55 minutes). Cool and cut into squares. Store in airtight container up to four days or freeze.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies (from Joy the Baker)

I have two lovely friends in my medical class who were recently diagnosed with Celiac’s. For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, basically people with Celiac’s cannot eat gluten, which is found in a lot of wheats and tons of other products! (Stuff like soy sauce, artificial vanilla extract, etc!) So…Celiac = not such a fun time with the majority of baked things I make. So I was determined to make them a treat too this time! I love love this recipe. SO easy, SO delicious, and it helped to brighten at least 2 wonderful people’s days.

– makes about two dozen cookies
Ingredients:
1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter (I used smooth)
1 cup sugar (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar)
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tsp pure vanilla extract (I added this)
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a baking sheet with butter and set aside. In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes. Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes. Roll into walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork. If you’d like, add a few chocolate pieces to the top of the cookies. Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on a baking sheet for two minutes, then transfer to… your mouth.

I also made puffed wheat squares and irish coffee cupcakes, but I wasn’t as satisfied with those two recipes. I shan’t post them until I have time to try them again and tinker around with the ingredients.

Leave a Reply

