School’s back in the summer. School’s back…forever?

Tomorrow is the first day back to school for us. That’s right…August 10th. Somehow I kept telling myself that it wasn’t true over and over. I waited until the last minute to buy my course pack. I still haven’t opened the calendar to look at my schedule for next week/tomorrow. But no matter how much denial I lather on…there’s no way around it. 8:00 AM I will be back in Katz, ready to start a new year.

It’s exciting though too. After link block, we’ll officially be in clerkship and in the hospital! This is what I’ve been waiting for, for the last two years and before that. It’s also terrifying.

So to tip the scale of this bittersweet end to summer more to the sweet side…COOKIES is the answer! I’ll bring them to school tomorrow…and I don’t expect them to last too long =)

Cocoa Fudge Cookies
(Adapted from Cooking Light, from Two Peas and Their Pod)

1 cup all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon baking soda
1/8 teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons butter
7 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
2/3 cup granulated sugar (I only used 1/3 cup)
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup plain low-fat (or fat-free) yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
(I added in about 1/4 cup of finely chopped dark chocolate)

Preheat oven to 350ºF; line 2 baking sheets with baking paper, lightly coated with cooking spray. Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Sift together flour, soda, and salt; set aside.

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Remove from heat; stir in cocoa powder and sugars (mixture will resemble coarse sand). Add yogurt and vanilla, stirring to combine. Add flour mixture, stirring until moist. Drop by level tablespoons 2 inches apart onto prepared baking sheets.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes or until almost set. Cool on pans 2 to 3 minutes or until firm. Remove cookies from pans; cool on wire racks. I got 22 cookies out of this recipe. Well…21 now (see the half eaten cookie in the bottom left corner? It’s all-eaten now!)
cocoa fudge cookies cooling
Cocoa Fudge cookies

One thought on “School’s back in the summer. School’s back…forever?

  1. Ashley says:

    Vicki, those will NOT last long at all – and I hope I get one before they are gone! You are the baking master and I’m excited to see you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

